Higher education

After completing high school studies, higher education is provided by four different types of institutions.


After graduating from high school, students are entitled to further their studies at four types of institutions: universities, professional institutes, technical colleges and Armed and Law and Order Forces and  higher education institutions.

The education system officially recognizes three types of academic certifications provided by these institutions: higher education technical degrees, professional degrees and academic degrees.

These institutions have different entry requirements, the most common of which is the university placement test, PSU (LINK), required for entering university, and not an obligation for technical colleges and professional institutes.

Higher education is regulated by two institutions, the Ministry of Education’s Higher Education Division, and the Council of Superior Education.

Higher education institutions can be autonomous or supervised by an external control system from their very beginnings. Those institutions entitled to independently give degrees are autonomous, executing their tasks in conformity with their statutes. These institutions are academically, economically and administratively autonomous.

Higher Education Institutions in Chile

Higher education institutions are those universities, professional institutes and technical colleges which have been officially recognized by the State and which are currently executing educational activities.

– Universities

– Professional Institutes

– Technical Colleges